Members of the Faculty Advisory Committee

The CEILS Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC) is responsible for communicating the educational needs and interests of all the departments and interdisciplinary programs in the Life and Physical Sciences.

CEILS FAC Members from the Division of Life and Physical Sciences (in alphabetical order by last name):

Name Titles Home Department and IDP*
Anastassia Alexandrova Associate Professor
Vice Chair of Undergraduate Education
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Don Blasius Distinguished Professor
Undergraduate Vice Chair
Math/Econ IDP Chair
Albert Courey
Associate Dean of Physical Sciences for Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Robert Gould Teaching Professor (Lecturer SOE)
Undergraduate Vice Chair
Jay Hauser Professor
Vice Chair of Academic Affairs
Physics & Astronomy (PA)
Sylvia Hurtado Professor Graduate School of Education & Information Studies (GSE&IS)
Christopher Kelty Professor
Vice Chair of Undergraduate Education
Institute for Society and Genetics (ISG)
Barbara Knowlton Professor
Vice Chair for Undergraduate Studies
Beth Lazazzera Associate Professor
Chair for Life Sciences Core Education
Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics (MIMG)
Jeffrey Long Professor
Vice Chair for Education
Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Cully Nordby


Associate Director Institute of the Environment and Sustainability (IoES)
Gilles Peltzer Professor Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences (EPSS)
Patricia Phelps Professor
Vice Chair
Integrative Biology and Physiology (IBP)
April Pyle Professor
Vice Chair for Undergraduate Affairs
Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics (MIMG)
Lawren Sack Professor
Vice Chair for Undergraduate Education
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB )
Van Savage Assistant Professor
Co-Vice Chair for Computational and Systems Biology IDP
Biomathematics , Computational and Systems Biology IDP
Jochen Stutz Professor
Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences (AOS)
Blaire Van Valkenburgh
Distinguished Professor
Associate Dean of the Life Sciences for Academic Programs
 Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB )
Stephanie White Professor
Director for Undergraduate Neuroscience IDP
Integrative Biology and Physiology (IBP), Undergraduate Neuroscience IDP

* IDP, Interdisciplinary Program at UCLA

Former Members of the Faculty Advisory Committee

We thank the following faculty from Life and Physical Sciences for their service and contributions to CEILS and their support of efforts to continuously improve education outcomes for our Bruins.

Former FAC Chairs:
Cully Nordby, Institute of the Environment & Sustainability 2019 – present
Ian McLean, Physics & Astronomy 2018-2019
Patricia Phelps, Integrative Biology & Physiology 2016-2018
Stephen Smale, Microbiology, Immunology, & Molecular Genetics inaugural Chair, 2014-2016
Former FAC Members:
Jessica Lynch Alfaro, Institute of Society & Genetics
Ellen Carpenter, Neuroscience IDP
Amander Clark, Molecular, Cell & Developmental Biology
Peggy Fong, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Frank Laski, Life Science Core Education
Yung-Ya Lin, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Ian McLean, Physics & Astronomy
Aaron Panofsky, Institute of Society & Genetics
Stephen Smale, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics