Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Writing a Diversity Statement

February 12 @ 9:00 am - 10:30 am

Employers are increasingly asking candidates to supply a diversity statement as part of their application. This session covers the essential elements of composing this important document. Starting with individual reflection on topics of inclusion, diversity, and equity, participants will draw upon personal and professional experiences to begin writing their story. We will discuss how inclusive teaching practices can be incorporated into the diversity statement. Participants will learn strategies for highlighting initiatives they have lead or participated in that focus on underrepresented students, working towards equity, and/or enhancing diversity. Examples may include professional development, creation of an inclusive learning community, student retention or outreach work, organizations and non-profits, and activities related to mentoring, research, committees, and teaching. For advanced students and postdocs, time will be spent showing examples of diversity statements and discussing how to incorporate the diversity statement into interview answers. It is never too early to begin working on a diversity statement, so special insight will be provided to new graduate students, regarding goal setting and identifying ways to engage with diversity efforts at their home institution.

Workshop Schedule: This workshop has two online sessions, which participants are required to attend, at 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT on Tuesday, February 12 and 19.

Workload Participants will be expected to draft and refine their own diversity statement.

Registration & Enrollment: This workshop is limited to 40 participants.

Early registration for CIRTL members only is open from Monday, December 10, through 12PM CT on Friday, January 25. Regular registration runs from Monday, January 28 through 12PM CT on Friday, February 8. STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority; we refer to the institution, role, and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

Accessibility: We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

To RSVP for this workshop, please click here.

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe and recognize the value of drawing on diversity in the development of teaching plans (including content, teaching practices and assessments) to foster learning.

Details

Date:
February 12
Time:
9:00 am - 10:30 am
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.cirtl.net/events/615

Organizer

CIRTL Network

Venue

Online

Details

Date:
February 12
Time:
9:00 am - 10:30 am
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.cirtl.net/events/615

Organizer

CIRTL Network

Venue

Online